Thursday, April 15, 2021

Owl, lesson 4/1

For the owl, click HERE.
For the course, click HERE.

Saturday, April 10, 2021

Pear on Paper

Graphite on R paper, CP, HP;
rough paper: 3,4 cm (1,3") x 4,3 cm (1,7").

Sunday, April 4, 2021

May the Eggs Be with Us!

Graphite, gold and watercolour markers on hot pressed paper. 20 x 20 cm / 8" x 8" inches.

Saturday, April 3, 2021

Old Derwent / Derwent vecchie

Old pencils (Derwent vecchie) are the best ones, by far and large. They were brought to me from London by my mother, around year 1977.

There is not much left of them, and I have so many pencils, now... but I still enjoy drawing with them, every now and then (see post below), sparingly, to have them last as long as possible.

I wonder if they are so much better then the new ones because time improves them (as it happens with watercolour paper) or if it is because the quality of those manufactured later is actually lower.

There is a third possibility, however: may be, in addition to the reasons above, these old pencils carry... the sweet flavour of love and youth.

Three Braid's Traces

Friday, April 2, 2021

Elephants in the Dark

Elephants, beware! You have been spotted by a night-vision binoculars!
Inktense colored pencils on 300 g/m² (140 lbs) Fabriano paper. 12.5 x 12.5 cm / 5" x 5" inches.

Thursday, April 1, 2021

Thursday, March 18, 2021

Amaryllis!

An unexpected bloom. Pencil 2H and starry watercolours on Arches hot pressed 300 g/m²; 25 x 10 cm / 10" x 4" inches.

Friday, March 12, 2021

Thursday, March 11, 2021

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Tuesday, March 9, 2021

Monday, March 8, 2021

Monday, March 1, 2021

Forsythia

Pencil and liquid watercolours on studio paper. 13,5 x 17,5 cm / 5,2" x 6,7" inches.

Thursday, February 25, 2021

February's Pumpkin

Pencil and watercolour on studio paper.
10 x 10 cm / 4" x 4" inches.

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

Intrusive Papaver rhoeas

Pencils and stump on studio paper; 7,5 x 7,5 cm (3" x 3").
Click here for Papaver rhoeas facts.

Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Croissant with Butter

Coloured pencils on plain paper. 7,5 x 7,5 cm (3" x 3").

Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Monday, February 8, 2021

Sunday, February 7, 2021

Saturday, February 6, 2021

Colorful Pastries 5: Ether

Graphite and silver on paper; 4,5 x 5 cm (1,8" x 2").

Friday, February 5, 2021

Colorful Pastries 4: Air

Watercolours on cardboard; 4,5 x 5 cm (1,8" x 2" inches).

Thursday, February 4, 2021

Colorful Pastries 3: Fire

Watercolours on cardboard; 4,5 x 5 cm (1,8" x 2" inches).

Wednesday, February 3, 2021

Colorful Pastries 2: Water

Watercolours on cardboard; 4,5 x 5 cm (1,8" x 2" inches).

Tuesday, February 2, 2021

Colorful Pastries 1: Earth

Watercolours on cardboard; 4,5 x 5 cm (1,8" x 2" inches).

Sunday, January 24, 2021

# 4634, p. 11

There are drawings I can't help but stop and copy. Usually they come from La Settimana Enigmistica.

Monday, January 18, 2021

Tuesday, January 12, 2021

Monday, January 11, 2021

Sunday, January 10, 2021