Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

678b

Helal-e ‘id jostan kaar-e ‘aam ast
Helal-e ‘id-e khaasaan daur-e jaam ast
Common people search the crescent of the feast
Noble people’s crescent of the feast is the circling goblet

Monday, July 27, 2015

678a

Sing this!
هلال عید جستن کار عام است
هلال عید خاصان دور جام است

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Friday, July 24, 2015

The Flower of Life

Strip # 677 for colouring!

Thursday, July 23, 2015

677d

Zubin and I may open a tavern in Selangor...
Mashallah!
Do you hire?!?

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

677c

Plans, just like dreams,
show what is hidden within...

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

677b

With the rise of the sun
we start making plans...

Monday, July 20, 2015

677a

The party was long
and we sang many songs...

Sunday, July 19, 2015

Friday, July 17, 2015

Bastille Day with Happy Eid!

Strip # 676 for colouring!

Thursday, July 16, 2015

676d

EID MUBARAK! Happy Feast of the Breaking of the Fast!! Happy Eid!!!

Wednesday, July 15, 2015

676c

To which, this emerging-from-the-waters froggy caravan, happily responds:

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

676b

While our friend, Princess Esperanza, joyfully sings "La Marseillaise"...

Today is Bastille Day.

Monday, July 13, 2015

676a

The night is warm and starry on the beach of Castel Sufiano...

Friday, July 10, 2015

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

675c

Woof! Woof!

Tuesday, July 7, 2015

675b

...If the bell can ring any moment?
مرا در منزل جانان چه امن عیش چون هر دم
جرس فریاد می‌دارد که بربندید محمل‌ها

Monday, July 6, 2015

675a

How can I rest by my Lover...

Saturday, July 4, 2015

Happy 4th of July!

To All our American and Americanophile Friends, Happy 4th of July with this all-time favorite song!
Regular Frogs resume Monday :-)

Sunday, June 21, 2015

Ramadan Mubarak! Ramzan Mubarak!! Ramazan Mubarak!!!

It does not matter if you spell it Ramadan, Ramzan or Ramazan: this Muslim holy month has just begun.

As for the exact date, we don't rely on an improbable moon-sighting (although we admit we like the idea, as long as it is done with naked eyes, not with binoculars or similar items) but follow the beautiful Saudi Aramco calendar which gives June 18th as the first Fasting Day.

We wish a Happy Ramadan to everybody: to those who understand the fasting as a physical obligation as well as to those who focus mainly on its spiritual aspect.

Our strip will pause for two weeks. Please come back on July, Monday the 6th.

May the Frogs be with you!

Friday, June 19, 2015

Good Fasting!

Do you have pencils? Please, colour the Froggies!

Thursday, June 18, 2015

674d

Oh well, Ramadan is here: let's fast from worry and fear!

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

674c

I am worried for him: Shaykhs tend to become sticky.
This is true...

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

674b

Hee hee hee my Zebrafriend has become a Shaykh...
It is good for the Zebrettes: devotion will lend their art wings...

Monday, June 15, 2015

674a

Look at them! They follow Zubin closer than his shadow...

Sunday, June 14, 2015

Cartoon Club 3 (Art Club 10)

Here we are, back to black paper (Canson, 240 g/m - 145 lbs), sketching Mickey from *Walt Disney's World of Fantasy* by Adrian Bailey. We bought this book in New York City, year 1989. At that time there were vendors of books all around the streets of Manhattan.

Friday, June 12, 2015

Zebrahoy!

Do you have pencils? Please, colour the Froggies!

Thursday, June 11, 2015

673d

We have borrowed a mount from the Baburnama!

Wednesday, June 10, 2015

673c

Waw! That is fun! Although it might be too long a swim for little zebras!?!
Swim? Oh no...

Tuesday, June 9, 2015

673b

Oh! Are you going too? Do you sing?
Not really. I am chaperoning a whole choir of Zebrettes...

Monday, June 8, 2015

673a

I love sufi poetry with a jazzy flavour!
Me too! I can't wait for the full moon's karaoke at Castel Sufiano...

Sunday, June 7, 2015

Friday, June 5, 2015

"Drunk Through You" (Jazzy Ansari)

Zubin sings a quatrain of Kwaja Abdallah Ansari, the Sage of Herat.
Do you have pencils? Please, colour the Froggies!

Thursday, June 4, 2015

672d

Drunk I am through you!
Freed from wine and cup!!
Prey, your prey am I!!!
Freed from trap and bait!
You I seek in Kaba and Bot-khane!!
From these freed am I except for You!!!
مستِ تو ام از بادہ و جام آزادم
صیدِ تو ام از دانہ و دام آزادم
مقصودِ من از کعبہ و بتخانہ تویی
ورنہ من از ایں هر دو مقام آزادم
mast-e taw am az bade-ho jam azadam
sayd-e taw am az dane-ho dam azadam
maqsud-e man az ka'be-ho botkhana taw-i
var na man azeen har daw maqam azadam

Wednesday, June 3, 2015

672c

Your prey am I freed from trap and bait. You I seek in Kaba and Bot-khane (Idol temple). From these...
صیدِ تو ام از دانہ و دام آزادم
مقصودِ من از کعبہ و بتخانہ تویی
ورنہ من از ایں هر دو مقام

Tuesday, June 2, 2015

672b

Freed from wine and cup!!!
از بادہ و جام آزادم

Monday, June 1, 2015

672a

Drunk am I through You!!!
مستِ تو ام

Sunday, May 31, 2015

Watercolor 1 (Art Club 8)

This is a 10x10 cm (4x4 inches) watercolour of the Universel Murad Hassil, a Sufi Temple in Katwijk-aan-Zee, the Netherlands.

Friday, May 29, 2015

Folk Tales!

Do you have pencils? Please, colour the Froggies!

Thursday, May 28, 2015

671d

Yet, for every frog there is a prince!

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

671c

And hungry wolves hiding in the woods...

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

671b

Gingerbread houses, flying carpets, magic lamps...

Monday, May 25, 2015

671a

Fairy tales are full of enchantment...

Sunday, May 24, 2015

Cartoon Club 1 (Art Club 7)

Sketches of Hands and Horses from old *How to...* American books. Highly recommended for lifting up one's spirit! :-) If you want just one, try this.

Friday, May 22, 2015

Choices

Don't you think this Strip needs some colours?

Thursday, May 21, 2015

670d

I opt for fairy tales!

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

670c

Whatever helps the soul to remember its home, is good...

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

670b

Devotion to a holy man or place...